Stamp Duty


The Indian Stamp Act, 1899 is the governing Act in India for levying stamp duty on various instruments. It extends to the whole of India except the state of Jammu & Kashmir.

Though the Indian Stamp Act, 1899 is a central Act, collection of stamp duty is a state subject. Therefore, all the states haves own State Stamp duty Acts. However, most of the provisions are same.

The stamp duty rates differ from state to state.

Following issues arise in the amalgamation-

  • Why the Stamp Duty is payable on amalgamation?
  • Levy of stamp duty in amalgamation by the transferee company state
  • Rates of stamp duty in different states